Sa. Kandasamy
(சா கந்தசாமி)

Genre type
Book type
6Short Stories

About the Author

Sa. Kandasamy (born 1940) is a novelist from Mayiladuthurai in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu.

A first generation learner in his family, Kandasamy’s literary career took off in 1968 with the publication of his novel Chayavanam listed by the National Book Trust as a masterpiece in modern Indian Literature.

Reading the works of Jawaharlal Nehru, Periyar, U.Ve.Swaminatha Iyer and V.Swaminatha Sharma laid the base for Kandasamy’s literary career. "The level of scholarship I acquired through this has given me strength, confidence and character. It has subtly influenced my works," he says.

He further says, "I am one of those who believe that the art of writing does not have to be ornamental. The best literature is one which transcends the barriers of time, culture, language and political ideology. It does not relate to a particular community or gender. More importantly, a reader from any part of the world should be able to internalize a novel or short story."

For his contribution to the development of art, the Lalit Kala Akademi of the Tamil Nadu government, conferred on him a fellowship in March 1995. Based on his research on South Indian Terracotta, the Chennai Doordarshan public television channel produced a 20 minute documentary "Kaval Deivangal" which took first prize at the Angino Film Festival in Nicosia, Cyprus in 1989. In 1998, Kandasamy was conferred with the Sahitya Academy award for his novel Vicharanai Commission.

Latest eBooks by Sa. Kandasamy

View All
Sarvadhesa Kathaigal
Sa. Kandasamy
Karuppin Kural
Sa. Kandasamy
Ettavathu Kadal
Sa. Kandasamy
Solla Padatha Nijangal
Sa. Kandasamy
Iravin Kural
Sa. Kandasamy